The Australian Association was officially formed on 19th May 1976, when delegates from Australian States and Territories which were interested in forming a national body met in Victoria.  Those represented were Victoria, South Australia, Queensland, New South Wales, Tasmania and Western Australia. Not all joined immediately as two were ineligible for full membership (not conducting Judges Schools). All were members by 1989.

The original name of the National body was Australian Association of Floral Art Judges Schools. The present name, Australian Floral Art Association,  came into effect in 1994.

Our Chairpersons / Presidents

1976-78Lois Barnett, Victoria
1978-82Elsie Holden, Queensland
1983-86Edna Wilkins, Victoria
1986-89Hilda Upperton, New South Wales
1990-93Gwenda Nesbitt, South Australia
1993-96Elva Wass, Western Australia
1997-2000Mary Mortensen, Queensland
2000-03Norma Gordon OAM, Tasmania
2003-06Marilyn Carle, Australian Capital Territory
2006-09Irene McIndoe, New South Wales
2009-12Eileen Wenn OAM, Western Australia
2012-15Eileen Wenn OAM, Western Australia (President National Management Committee)
2015-18Madhu Shah, New South Wales (President, National Management Committee)
2018-2021Kim Baillie, New South Wales (President, National Management Committee)


AFAA National Shows:

February 1994 Art in Floral Splendour Adelaide, South Australia
May 2000 Floral Rendezvous 2000 Brisbane, Queensland
September 2004 Nature’s Network Windsor, New South Wales
September 2010 Floral Rendezvous Perth, Western Australia
September 2013 A Floral Affair Geelong, Victoria
August 2014Dare to be Different Glenelg, South Australia
August 2015Blooming Art Exhibition in conjunction with Bunbury Flower Designers Club Golden JubileeBunbury, Western Australia
August 2016Interconnected - A Floral ExtravaganzaPenrith, New South Wales
October 2017Costa del SolMarcoola, Queensland
October 2018InterACTionCanberra, ACT